Consistency*

*Alternate title: What is progress and how do we know when enough has been made?

I have not done a great job at sharing a slice of my life everyday in March. I could give a million excuses, but when it comes down to it, I am scared to put writing out there. This is one factor. Another I have also noticed (since I was in my late 20s to now, at 38) is that I am scared to be consistent with things in my life I know are good for me because it means I will have accomplished something and then I need to do something bigger. *eye roll* It’s pretty odd if you sit and think about it for a minute, that someone would want to sabotage their own success at something so they wouldn’t have to do the next harder thing…

Part of bettering myself in the aforementioned areas is admitting they are a problem, then accepting them, and then looking for small areas where I have progressed. This past month, I decided to start a blog. This is huge for me, because I am deeply fearful of what others will think about my writing, even when I think about what I write on social media! I will freely share pictures and articles that say what I want to say for me,

but I rarely write anything of real substance myself. Let me just sit with that for a bit.  thinking emoji

Reflecting on writing this month has made me think that I begun by pushing myself to take the first step, published a couple of little stories, saw that no one reacted horribly to my writing, but then I froze. I obsessed daily about what I was going to write, would it be good enough, funny enough, real enough, etc., when all I needed to see was that the point was to write for a solid 31 days. I did not do that this time, but I do see a little progress. How far should I push myself? How much progress in a thing is enough to say it is worthwhile progress? Whew…overanalyzing is a real thing.

Continuing this blog is a goal for April, at least once a week, as is doing a 31 days of change workout program by Darebee. I have printed out, punched, and put it on a ring. Today was the first workout, and it was right where I needed it to be. I am going to push myself, but try not to beat myself up also if I slip up a bit…but then again, how much of a “slipping up allowance” does one get? How do you know when you have found that balance?

What are your opinions on this? Do you have a problem with consistency? How do you tackle it?

Thanks in advance for any comments, my fellow humans! Have a lovely Saturday 🙂

Sarah

 

3 thoughts on “Consistency*

  1. I don’t know if I have any good answers about balance…it seems to me to do one thing well, I tend to procrastinate (or fail) in getting other things done.

    Yea! you for writing! Just getting started is progress. Just keep going and do however much seems right to you.Check out and read blogs, and you will see there are a lot of people who feel hesitant and wonder about every word that they put out there. So don’t obsess too much about the “is it good enough” refrain that seems to live in most writer’s brains. There are some bloggers that I read all the time that I really am in awe of- their writing is so good! But there are also many who are like me and we just write about ordinary things in our ordinary voices- the thing is, every now and then, it turns out to be extraordinary!

    Slice of Life continues weekly on Tuesday throughout the year. The community is very supportive. Or on Saturdays you can link up at RuthAyresWrites to celebrate something from your week- it is a smaller group, also incredibly supportive.
    There are a lot of poetry link-ups going on in April, too, that offer an easy way to try it out if you are interested in poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Diane! I love the first thing you said! That is exactly me…always feeling like when I focus on one thing I fail at the rest of my to-do list! 😀 Grateful for your support. I will keep writing. Not sure about poetry, yet though. I have never really read it that much…too impatient! Do you recommend anything?

    Like

  3. Blogging is one of the few consistent things I’ve done in my life (lots of other goals are sporadic at best – losing weight, getting organized, exercising). Not sure why, because when I started I was not one of those people who considered myself a writer. I just jumped in for the SOL challenge with my sixth grade students six years ago and I’ve never looked back. I found a delightful community. I like what Diane said about writing “about ordinary things in our ordinary voices- the thing is, every now and then, it turns out to be extraordinary!” That’s so true. Just keep trying and come back even when you miss a week or two. We’ll be here, ready to read and listen to your voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

